Professor - Communication Studies [Department Chair]: Denise Bostdorff

The Communication Studies major seeks to provide students with a strong educational grounding for diverse fields such as broadcasting, education, public relations, and business. A second major in the department, Communication Sciences and Disorders, prepares its students for graduate or pre-professional work in the field of clinical speech, language and hearing therapy. The Communication department was originally founded as the Department of Oratory in 1900 by President Louis Holden. A full major in speech was created in 1930. In 1981, the Speech Department split into the Departments of Theatre and Communication respectively.

Recent IS topics in Communication have included presidential rhetoric in the War on Terrorism, modern brides and the hegemony of the "fairy tale" wedding and the audiological rehabilitation for adult patients with cochlear implants.

The Communication department is based in Wishart Hall.


Browse the Communication Studies Collections:

Communication Faculty Scholarship

Communication Studies Senior Independent Study Theses

Rhetoric of Difference Podcasts